Sarawak [Google map] is located on the island of Borneo, and is one of the two states that make up East Malaysia. Sarawak and Sabah are separated from West Malaysia (Peninsular Malaysia) by the South China Sea. With an area of 124,449.51 square kilometres, Sarawak is the largest state in Malaysia, making up some 37.5% of the country's total area. The State is divided into eleven Administrative Divisions.

Kuching is the State capital and the administrative centre for the First Division of Sarawak. It is home to some 458,300 people making it the highest populated city in Sarawak.

Topographically, Sarawak may be broadly classified into three principal terrain groups: the alluvial coastal plain, the mountainous interior and the central belt of generally undulating country between the coastal plain and the interior. Sarawak is a tropical state with an equatorial climate. It is hot and humid throughout the year with average daily temperature ranging from 23°C during the early hours of the morning to 32°c during the day.

Sarawak's forests are the state's most important resource and asset, producing timber and a multitude of forest products. The rainforest is home to an incredible variety of more than 8,000 species of flora and over 20,000 fauna, the majority of which are insects.

About Us | Disclaimer
Picture Gallery Booking Guide Travel Information About Sarawak Home